Monday, December 15, 2014

Listen: Building the Future of Public Education: 2014 Education Policy Forum #MSEAforum14

Click link for audio of this forum:

9:00 a.m. - 9:05 a.m.—Introduction
9:05 a.m. - 10:25 a.m.—School Funding
  • Mary Gable, Assistant Superintendent for Academic Policy and Innovation, Maryland State Department of Education
  • Verjeana Jacobs, Maryland Association of Boards of Education President
  • Kevin Maxwell, Prince George’s County Public Schools CEO
  • Betty Weller, MSEA President

    Moderator: Tim Tooten, WBAL-TV
10:30 a.m. - 11:50 a.m.—Legislative Issues Preview
  • Delegate John Bohanan (D-St. Mary’s County)
  • Delegate Anne Kaiser (D-Montgomery County)
  • Senator Richard Madaleno (D-Montgomery County)
  • Senator Paul Pinsky (D-Prince George’s County)

    Moderator: Len Lazarick,
12:00 p.m. - 1:20 p.m.—Standards, Assessments, and Evaluations (Lunch)
  • Linda Darling-Hammond, Charles E. Ducommun Professor of Education at Stanford University
  • Morgan Polikoff, Assistant Professor of Education, University of Southern California

    Moderator: Liz Bowie, Baltimore Sun
 1:30 p.m. - 2:50 p.m.—The Role of Teachers
  • Sean McComb, High School English Teacher in Baltimore County and 2014 National Teacher of the Year
  • Jose Vilson, Middle School Math Educator in New York City and author of This Is Not a Test: A New Narrative on Race, Class, and the Future of Education
  • Jody Zepp, High School Government and Psychology Teacher in Howard County and 2014-15 Maryland Teacher of the Year

    Moderator: Marc Steiner, WEAA 88.9
 2:55 p.m. - 4:15 p.m.—Connecting K-12 to Higher Ed and Business
  • Brit Kirwan, Chancellor, University System of Maryland
  • Martin Knott, Chair, Governor’s Workforce Investment Board
  • Bernard Sadusky, Maryland Association of Community Colleges Executive Director

    Moderator: Jenna Johnson, Washington Post
 4:15 p.m. - 4:20 p.m.—Closing

No comments:

Post a Comment

If your comment does not appear in 24 hours, please send your comment directly to our e-mail address:
parentscoalitionmc AT