Thursday, February 20, 2014

But, wait! The MCPS Board of Ed. Supports Teacher/Student Sex

Gosh, you knew the Montgomery County Board of Education would be the #1, gap closing, hip, happenin', Twittering, trend setter on this, didn't you?  

On the exact same day that the Maryland Association of Boards of Education (MABE) was presenting public comment in Annapolis stating that any teacher and student sex was out of the question, our very own Montgomery County Board of Education was voting to support the legislation that would PERMIT teachers and students to have sex.  

At the February 11, 2014, BOE meeting, Board member Rebecca Smondrowski asked about the provision in Senator Jamie Raskin's bill that would PERMIT teachers and students to have sex.  She was told by the BOE staff person, Laura Steinberg, that it was a "complicated, technical condition" in the bill and "that these Senators believe that that needs to be respected." 

And so, the Montgomery County Board of Education voted to support legislation that would PERMIT teachers and coaches to have sex with students.  

We're #1!

15 comments:

  1. What is this world coming to that you pass a law that says it's okay to rape our young and the BOE seconds it. Shame on you, our elected officials. We are the adults and we should protect our kids.

    ReplyDelete
  2. There is still time to stop this bill, SB460, from becoming the law of the State of Maryland. Email Sens. Jamie Raskin, Nancy King and Jennie Forehand. Tell them to remove this language from the bill. They are the proponents of the bill that legalizes sex between teenage students and teachers/coaches/employees, as long as the teacher/coach/employee is no more than 7 years older than the teenager.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Sen. Rasklin said in his press release that the languag is in there because members of the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee and the House Judiciary Committee pushed to have it in the bill. We know it wasn't Sen. Stone. Who was it on those committees that require the language to be in the bill? They refuse to come forward.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Here is the list of suspects. Every elected official on this list must be in favor of this provision, with the exception of Senator Stone, Delegate Arora and Delegate Simmons. Arora and Simmons have their own House bill that does not include the new loophole allowing teacher/coach and student sexual contact. The rest of the people on this list have remained silent, even when asked for their position.

    What are you all hiding from? Voters?

    Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee: Phone Numbers & Emails

    Baltimore City
    Lisa A. Gladden, Vice-Chair
    (410) 841-3697
    lisa.gladden@senate.state.md.us

    Baltimore County
    James Brochin
    (410) 841-3648
    jim.brochin@senate.state.md.us

    Norman R. Stone, Jr. [NOT A SUPPORTER OF ALLOWING TEACHERS/STUDENTS TO HAVE SEXUAL CONTACT]
    (410) 841-3587
    norman.stone@senate.state.md.us

    Robert A. Zirkin
    (410) 841-3131
    bobby.zirkin@senate.state.md.us

    Cecil, Caroline Kent, and Queen Anne’s Counties
    Stephen Hershey, Jr.
    (410) 841-3639
    steve.hershey@senate.state.md.us

    Cecil & Harford Counties
    Nancy Jacobs
    (410) 841-3158
    nancy.jacobs@senate.state.md.us

    Montgomery County
    Brian E. Frosh, Chair
    (410) 841-3124
    brian.frosh@senate.state.md.us

    Jennie M. Forehand
    (410) 841-3134
    jennie.forehand@senate.state.md.us

    Jamin B. (Jamie) Raskin
    (410) 841-3634
    jamie.raskin@senate.state.md.us

    Washington County
    Christopher B. Shank
    (410) 841-3903
    christopher.shank@senate.state.md.us



    House Judiciary Committee: Phone Numbers & Emails

    Allegany County
    Kevin Kelly
    Phone: 410-841-3404
    Email: kevin.kelly@house.state.md.us

    Baltimore City
    Curt Anderson
    Phone: 410-841-3291
    Email: curt.anderson@house.state.md.us

    Jill P. Carter
    Phone: 410-841-3283
    Email: jill.carter@house.state.md.us

    Luke H. Clippinger
    Phone: 410-841-3303
    Email: luke.clippinger@house.state.md.us

    Frank M. Conaway, Jr.
    Phone: 410-841-3189
    Email: frank.conaway@house.state.md.us

    Sandy (Samuel) Rosenberg
    Phone: 410-841-3297
    Email: samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us

    Baltimore County
    John W. E. Cluster, Jr.
    Phone: 410-841-3526
    Email: john.cluster@house.state.md.us

    Cecil, Caroline, Kent, & Queen Anne's Counties
    Michael D. Smigiel, Sr.
    Phone: 410-841-3555
    Email: michael.smigiel@house.state.md.us

    Cecil & Harford Counties
    Glen Glass
    Phone: 410-841-3280
    Email: glen.glass@house.state.md.us

    Frederick & Washington Counties
    Michael J. Hough
    Phone: 410-841-3472
    Email: michael.hough@house.state.md.us

    Harford County
    Susan K. McComas
    Phone: 410-841-3272
    Email: susan.mccomas@house.state.md.us

    Montgomery County
    Kathleen M. Dumais, Vice-Chair
    Phone: 410-841-3052
    Email: kathleen.dumais@house.state.md.us

    Sam Arora [HAS SEPARATE HOUSE BILL WITHOUT PERMITTING YOUNG TEACHER/COACH - STUDENT SEXUAL CONTACT]
    Phone: 410-841-3528
    Email: sam.arora@house.state.md.us

    Susan C. Lee
    Phone: 410-841-3649
    Email: susan.lee@house.state.md.us

    Luiz R. S. Simmons [HAS SEPARATE HOUSE BILL WITHOUT PERMITTING YOUNG TEACHER/COACH - STUDENT SEXUAL CONTACT]
    Phone: 410-841-3037
    Email: luiz.simmons@house.state.md.us

    Jeffrey D. Waldstreicher
    Phone: 410-841-3130
    Email: jeff.waldstreicher@house.state.md.us

    Prince George's and Calvert Counties
    Joseph F. Vallario, Jr., Chair
    Phone: 410-841-3488
    Email: joseph.vallario@house.state.md.us

    Prince George’s County
    Darren M. Swain
    Phone: 410-841-3692
    Email: darren.swain@house.state.md.us

    Kriselda Valderrama
    Phone: 410-841-3210
    Email: kris.valderrama@house.state.md.us

    Geraldine Valentino-Smith
    Phone: 410-841-3101
    Email: geraldine.valentino@house.state.md.us

    Washington County
    Neil C. Parrott
    Phone: 410-841-3636
    Email: neil.parrott@house.state.md.us

    Wicomico & Worcester Counties
    Michael A. McDermott
    Phone: 410-841-3431
    Email: mike.mcdermott@house.state.md.us

    ReplyDelete
  5. I.A.W. "Don't quit your day jobs!"

    ReplyDelete
  6. I hope people view this tape. I was stunned by what I perceived as lack of knowledge and concern about the content of this bill. Did anyone else perceive that?

    ReplyDelete
  7. “Every Action has an Equal and Opposite Reaction.” Sir Isaac Newton

    ReplyDelete
  8. Let me guess . . . The theater of the absurd?

    ReplyDelete
  9. It's the proverbial, "Foxes in Charge of the Chicken Coop."

    ReplyDelete
  10. I was stunned that no one on the Board seemed able to voice a complete sentence.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They must not have attended all day kindergarten.

      Delete
  11. Senator Norman Stone responded immediately to an email, saying he did not have anything to do with the language. Sen. Brochin said on his FB page he would look into it, however we never received a definite response from him. The other senators were contacted but have not responded.

    ReplyDelete
  12. A conspiracy of silence speaks louder than words . . .

    ReplyDelete
  13. Could the bill be just a ploy so that the legislature perpetuates the existing loophole?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Absolutely. Since the new loophole has zero change of passing across the state, it would appear that the 7 year gap has been placed in the bill to guarantee that the bill will never pass.

      Delete

If your comment does not appear in 24 hours, please send your comment directly to our e-mail address at contact AT parentscoalitionmc.com