Thursday, March 2, 2017

Virginia Governor Signs Teacher Misconduct Reporting Law

Gov. Terry McAuliffe (D-Va.) signed a new law to protect students from teachers who engage in sexual misconduct.
The law requires all Virginia school districts to report cases of possible misconduct to the Virginia Department of Education within 10 days of learning of the allegations. Sponsors of the legislation said they sought new law because of the findings of a December investigation by the News-4 I-Team, which showed Fairfax County Public Schools waited years before formally requesting license revocation for four teachers who admitted sexual misconduct.

No comments:

Post a Comment

If your comment does not appear in 24 hours, please send your comment directly to our e-mail address:
parentscoalitionmc AT